R. Justin Shepherd | PART-TIME PUNDIT


“Mario must be insane!”
6.June.2007, 12.48 pm
Filed under: insane space capades, video games

To err is human. To desire stuff you don’t really need, and really can’t afford, that’s American!

So with nothing better to do this afternoon at work, I’ve been looking around at stuff I can’t afford, but which I think I’d like to have. One of those things is a Nintendo Wii. As a kid, I really loved video games, and I still enjoy them, though most of my friends have moved away and I don’t have a group of peeps to play them with now. Anyway, though, I was looking into what games are available for the Wii, and I came across a pretty absurd discussion.

There are geeks in all fields, God knows, but this is some of the funnier stuff I’ve read in a while. So now, without further adieu, I present a bunch of the aforementioned geeks, arguing passionately over an upcoming Wii game, “Super Mario Galaxy.” Try to read it slowly, savoring the misspellings, syntax, etc. etc.

Mario is the impossible!
Previewed By: A Customer    Date: 6/1/2007 3:49:16 PM
Mario is gone alot of things and now through space, he must be insane! I think that this will be an awesome game. If it could be multi player, that would be cool!

Who Cares!
Previewed By: Sonic    Date: 5/30/2007 8:43:55 PM
I got a better idea lets make a game about working at Burger King and flippin burgers! Mario games have gotten so bad ever since 2005. And the plot is stupid. I mean wahoooo Mario goes into space big deal! Trust me this is gonna to be a bad game so don’t get it.

Is there anything Mario can’t do?
Previewed By: CrazY4Mario    Date: 5/27/2007 4:40:09 PM
Mario did many things in the past. He did Golf, tennis, Soccer, parties, fighting (super smash bros.), adventures, paper, basketball, teaching, and much more. No he’s going to space!! Thats great! Another game that mario is going to do. He didn’t do football yet though. This game is going to be the best, but i have a feeling it is going to be short. I know you can do it Mario creators. Make it long for the players.

This will be a great game
Previewed By: Pat    Date: 5/23/2007 5:29:29 PM
I love all mario games and i am looking forward to this one so much!!! I cant wait.

E3
Previewed By: Aurora75    Date: 6/7/2006 9:06:44 AM
This game looked spectacular at E3. This is going to be truely one of those games that come along once every 10-20 years that really pushes the entire industry forward in how they develop consoles and video games. Nintendo comes through again.

This is going to be incredble.
Previewed By: The Hams    Date: 5/16/2006 6:23:46 PM
Judging by the E3 videos, this may be one of the best videogames of all time. Seriously, the exploring of different planets and all the gameplay mechanics that can be bourne of it, the possibilities are infinite. It’s mezmerizing to even dream what this title is capable of becoming. There never was a game with so much potential, and Miyamoto will certainly drive this title into the Game of the Year spot of many publications. Can’t wait.

   
 
5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have a funny/sad/interesting theory. Technology, largely through video games, has contributed to the physical inactivity of kids. So much so, that the more interactive Wii might actually INCREASE the physical activity level of some children. Can we actually fight the obesity epidemic with a video game?

Have you seen the Dance Dance Revolution PE Class in West VA public schools (I think it’s WVA)? It is REQUIRED in their PE classes…and it’s working! The kids love it and everyone is getting exercise multiple times per week. The story is from a couple of months ago in the NY Times if you can dig it up from the archives.

Rigorous physical exertion while staring at a screen obeying commands from a computer. Hmmm. It’s no run on the beach at sunset, but it’s better than nothing, I guess.

I’m kinda anti-video game, but I must admit that playing tennis and boxing were a lot of fun when I played on my brother-in-law’s Wii.

Comment by cort

I admit to being a huge dork, so much so that I asked my parents for a Wii for Christmas and even lurked around the internet until I found out about a “secret” pre-order the week before it came out and had my parents run down to Toys R Us to get one for me…

Anyway, the Wii is a good time. Beyond the fact that a lot of the game are truly fun to play (the aforementioned tennis and boxing included), you can use it to play Game Cube games, which you can often buy used for pretty cheap, and you can download original NES games for five bucks a pop.

Ah, see, I don’t comment on serious things, but you draw me out of my lurking with a Nintendo post. Go figure.

Comment by Jamie

“This is going to be truely one of those games that come along once every 10-20 years that really pushes the entire industry forward in how they develop consoles and video games.” Hmm, every 10-20 years, eh?! WELL, judging from the LONG history we have of console games (about 20 years), this claim says a lot!…

Comment by Derek

You’re forgetting about Atari! Commodore 64! ColecoVision! In my estimation, it’s been over 30 years. However, your point still stands. Unless Mario jumps off the screen and smacks me in the face, I doubt it’s going to be all that groundbreaking.

Comment by rjustin

Nintendo wii has produced a fun way to do exercise at home. I have already had DDR which really help me to burn fat – and I couldn’t wait for Wii Fit to come out in the States! ^_^

http://www.unlimit-game.com

Comment by Buy Low Price Nintendo Wii Fit




Leave a Reply

